March Onwards and Upwards

You can go the distance
We’ll find out in the long run
(In the long run)
We can handle some resistance
If our love is a strong one
(Is a strong one)

The Eagles (Band)

39 days till The 2024 Adidas Manchester Marathon

It’s March, just over a month till I toe the line and set of from the arch near Old Trafford, the theatre of dreams. Nightmares of your a Red Devil at the moment. I have a dream of running well but let’s see what the next month brings eh?

Last time I was detailing how I was behind in where I’d like to be but a week (and a half) can make a bit of a difference. I’m still behind where I’d want to be but I’ve ran, not one but two 20mile runs. They’ve not been great but now isn’t the time to be peaking over distance.

The first one, oh dear, was hindered by a very schoolboy error. 😂. I set off in what was a cold, dull but dry day. Trying to avoid energy gels, the plan was to eat a mini Chia Charge flapjack bar at 7miles, a sports drink at 10-11miles and another chia charge flapjack at 15miles. Up and past Langsett Reservoir and through a farmers field I’ve never been on before to Join the trans pennine trail at Hazlehead. There it was time to eat my first Flapjack. Unfortunately, it was here that I realised they were still sat on the kitchen side. 🤦‍♂️

Too far in to go back I just carried on. unfortunately at 11miles I was flagging. I drank my sports drink and pushed on. A few miles later I was again flagging and wanted to quit for another day. A quick word with myself and after a few minutes I set off again down the trail. It took a lot of grit & determination but I did it. 20miles. It wasn’t fast or pretty and I was exhausted after but I managed it. 🎉

A couple of days later it was time for another longish run with Marathon pace efforts. 2mile warm up/4x1mile MP with 1mile easy recovery/2mile cool down. 12miles on what felt like a spring day.

The week was finished off with a 15mile in misty then sunny but freezing weather coupled with a couple of 1.5mile runs instead of rest days made the first 50mile week of 2024.

I took a day off and ran…. 1.5mile yesterday so that I could concentrate on todays 20miles. Another sunny day it went a little better apart from a small dizzy spell. Yes, that isn’t good but hopefully it was just a little fatigue. I’ll keep an eye on it. I fuelled this time with a Maurten drink and gel. I remembered my Chia Charge bars too. 😂

Hopefully I can hit 55-60miles this week to build more endurance.

The average paces of these have been a little slower than I’d like but still miles in the bank. I’ll work on pace soon enough. Things are looking a bit better for Manchester and I’ve booked a race for after in the inaugural Barnsley 10k on 30th June. This means I won’t be running the Summer Round Sheffield Run now.

I’m feeling quite positive at the moment in my running so onwards and upwards.

Anyway Bye For Now

“No doubt a brain and some shoes are essential for marathon success. Although if it comes down to a choice, pick the shoes. More people finish marathons with no brains than with no shoes.” 

Don Kardong

Leave a comment