The Eve of the 26.2mile jog at the coast

 “There is nothing like returning to a place that remains unchanged to find the ways in which you yourself have altered.”

Nelson Mandela

1day or night till the 2017 Blackpool Marathon 

So it’s almost here. My return to try yet again to conquer the Blackpool marathon. Twice before have I towed the line on the golden mile to be thwarted by bad luck.  2013 it was a little bit of inexperience and an hamstring problem then 2014 returning in the form and shape of my life to be defeated by a 38mph headwind for the last 4.2miles.    Both times chasing that elusive of targets, the sub 3hr marathon and watching it slip away.

The quote at the top describes tomorrow’s ‘little jog at the coast’. Blackpool as a town never really changes.  The mix of family holidayers and drink & lust fuelled stag/hen do’s inhabit the daytime and nightime but I’m different.  As you may or not know I comfortably broke the 3hr barrier at VMLM2016, pacing beautifully to a 2:58.06 despite a little pre stop on the way.  As you also may or may not know I said VMLM2018 would be my next big attempt at a decent sub 3hr with sub 2:50 being the desired outcome.

So why do I find myself sat in a guesthouse in Blackpool ready for bed and prepared for 26.2miles? Because I got jealous. Jealous of the people getting acceptance letters for the 2017 London marathon which is also tomorrow.  This time the pressure is off having nothing to prove on the sub 3hr.  Don’t get me wrong I will be trying to run a marathon time starting with a 2 but if I don’t then fair enough.

Training this year has been unorphodox and maybe I’ve not taken it seriously or maybe my heart really hasn’t been in it.  But I come here stronger in body and stronger in mind.  Out went the 60-70mile weeks and the multiple 20mile runs. In came the strength work, 30mile weeks and after an upliftingly easy 20mile run came a couple of failed attempts but ones i could take some benefit from. The pressure really is off and I can genuinely enjoy, as much as you can enjoy with out being crazy or sadistic, running 26.2miles or 42km for you metric geeks.  I’m fuelled up and relaxed. Probably spent too much time on my feet today with a family day in the Sealife centre and on the beach but a paddle in the pools of salty sea water on the beach took a lot of fatigue out.  I did do a little run of 0.5mile easy, 1mile at marathon pace and then a mile easy to loosen the legs this morning and surprise surprise it was windy. Supposed to be better tomorrow but I’ll just take it as it comes.

So I will leave it at that for now

I have at the last minute been persuaded to raise money for the Teenage Cancer Trust which you can donate to HERE

Anyway Bye for Now

“The marathon is a charismatic event. It has everything. It has drama. It has competition. It has camaraderie. It has heroism. Every jogger can’t dream of being an Olympic champion, but he can dream of finishing a marathon.”
Fred Lebow

Leave a Reply

