Honey. we’re going streaking!

”You need to aim beyond what you are capable of. You must develop a complete disregard for where your abilities end. Try to do things that you’re incapable of… If you think you’re incapable of running a company, make that your aim… Make your vision of where you want to be a reality. Nothing is impossible.”

Paul Arden

 

33days till the 2016 Vale of York Half Marathon

and in the hope of being fit enough to run well im going Streaking!!!!

giphy.gif

thats right Streaking.

old-school-streaking-o.gif

NOOOO!!! not that type of streaking. Going on a running streak. mind you doing the above would mean that I would have to run very fast from the inevitable chase from the Police. definitely a possible emergency training plan should i not be where i need to be by the end of August. lol

For those that dont know what this is, The official definition of a running streak, as adopted by the Streak Runners International, Inc., and United States Running Streak Association, Inc., is to run at least one mile (1.61 kilometers) within each calendar day. Running may occur on either the roads, a track, over hill and dale, or on a treadmill.

For me It’ll be at least 20min of running a day for as long as I can including any races I decide to throw in.  I’m currently on day 5 with, so far, the longest run being an undulating 7mile run in the late afternoon sun on 1. It’s a little different for me because I like at least 1 rest day a week for recovery and muscle adaption.  

It’s early days but I am actually feeling stronger each day I run. It will get harder as I go on through August increasing distance, pace or both to cram in fitness and pace.  You have to……

After last Sunday’s race I came into this week tired and again underconfident so I didn’t run till Thursday.  I turned 39yr old on Wednesday meaning just 1 year from becoming a vet40 athlete. A lot of races reward from that age grade up and it’s not rare for me to be racing the 1st or 2nd vet40 in some races.   I do enter races with winning prizes in mind but it’s rare to find many as a senior athlete were you don’t get a lot of people faster in front.  I’m not saying I expect to win often because there is a lot of bloody good People either already in their 40s or hitting it around the same time as me.  


I ran the Hillsborough parkrun on Saturday as an easy 5k tempo with the exception of the 3rd and final lap where with 1st and 2nd still in catching distance I began my wind up to catch them till my lace came undone and I slowed to contemplate tying it. SRC club mate Shaun went past and asked me to push him to sub 20min. I did this, literally at times whether it was putting my hand in the small of his back to shove him on or shout at him to kick to the finish.  It’s been a pleasure helping or seeing club mates do well but now it’s my turn. 


The black dog called Depression has used my current confidence level to hit me sometimes so hopefully this new found determination will send the heavy dark pooch into a long slumber and I can get back mojo for life again.  I continue the fight and I will win. Head up and push through. 

Anyway, Bye For Now

“Running is a road to self-awareness and reliance-you can push yourself to extremes and learn the harsh reality of your physical and mental limitations or coast quietly down a solitary path watching the earth spin beneath your feet.”

-Doris Brown Heritage

Leave a Reply

