Taper, taper, taper, I’m a taper monster. A week to go

“The marathon is not really about the marathon, it’s about the shared struggle. And it’s not only the marathon, but the training.”
– Bill Buffum

image

7 days till the 2016 Virgin Money London marathon

Wait, WHAT???!!! The hell!!!!!!!!!

Yep, 7 days or exactly one week.  It’s that close and what’s been done in preparation has been done. What is, will be.   It’s not been a bad first week of the taper. It did include an hilly 5mile road race but I dropped the weekly mileage to account for the damage of that, hopefully anyway. 

It’s about this time that taper madness kicks in.

image

What’s taper madness?

OMG, I haven’t got any purrell!!!!!!!!

WHAT THE F*** IS PURRELL????!!!!!

DO I NEED IT?

ARGHHHHH!!!!!!!!

Uh um, sorry about that, and………breeeeaaathhhh. I Google’d it.  apparently it’s hand sanitizer that kills 99.4% of germs.

image

Anyway,  where was I? Ahhh yes, taper madness.  Hopefully I don’t get affected by it this time.  I have trained smarter and accumulated more training miles in 2016 than I ever have.  784 miles as opposed to 622 in 2014 for Blackpool with 14days less before the race and only 533 for VMLM2015.  The foundation for a good run next Sunday is there in the legs.  Job now is keeping a lid on it, let it simmer then unleash the flavour on the roads of London.  Hopefully this year when I reach the banks of the river Thames with the houses of parliament getting closer and closer that I will be well in inside if Sub 3hr target time so that with only the last 800m to go I can’t drop the hammer and knock second after second off.  Cross that line with a time beginning with a 2 would be the icing on a deliciously sweet cake. Ooh, a nice chocolate fudge one with fresh cream on. Anyone else getting hungry? Back in a minute.

image

That’s better.  

Like I was saying, achieve that sub 3hr will be the highlight of a pretty decent comeback from last year’s dissapointing injury destroyed 2015

image

The race I ran on Wednesday was the 2nd South Yorkshire road league fixture at Worsborough cotton mill, Barnsley.  This is a hilly course with a large 1mile climb but fast because of the 2miles of solid steep downhill running that you get rewarded with.

image

Despite being up from 4 am for a 6 am shift at work I feel I ran well. Holding something back before unleashing myself down the hill. I  didn’t realise till after that I was so close to going Sub 30min.  If I had I may have gone a little harder up the hill but in the end I finished top 40 in 30.13. So close but I felt strong up the hill and fast down the hill and in the final sprint the finish.

image

Am I ready for next week? I reckon I am.  Just got to stay fresh, injury free and away from the lurgy. A few people at work have had the Neorovirus and Emma has also had a tummy bug.  My cough still hasn’t gone but almost.  Getting excited a little now my final marathon prep run has gone well today. This consisted of Warm up/2 x 1mile @ 10k pace & 1.2mile at approx MP with 2 mile steady between/warm down. Smashed it.

image

Remember I am running next week while trying to raise money for MIND, the mental health charity. This is close to my heart with myself having depression.  I haven’t had a bad down day for a while but can sometimes feel the rage kicking in.  Still fighting, still winning.  Please donate HERE

Anyway, Bye for Now

Quick, someone pass the Purrell.

image

“The body does not want you to do this. As you run, it tells you to stop but the mind must be strong. You always go too far for your body. You must handle the pain with strategy…It is not age; it is not diet. It is the will to succeed.”
– Jacqueline Gareau, 1980 Boston Marathon Winner

Leave a Reply

