Return to racing, going “full balls” & going the distance

I run because long after my footprints fade away, maybe I will have inspired a few to reject the easy path, hit the trails, put one foot in front of the other, and come to the same conclusion I did: I run because it always takes me where I want to go.

-Dean Karnazes

image

21 days to the 2016 Virgin Money London marathon

Purposely been 2 weeks since I last updated. I wanted a break from blogging for a week. I had been set 150miles for the 14days from Mon 21st March to today the 3rd April but the first week didn’t go to plan really.  Some hard fast runs Inc a great SRC Thursday speed session but only short runs which got me to only 40miles Saturday night.  With hopes of doing a 70mile week there was absolutely no way I was going to be doing a 30 mile long run Sunday.  Especially as I wasn’t able to get out till late for a planned 22miles  so I decided to break the new training shoes in over a fairly sharp, hilly and unintentional OCD pleasing 11.111mile run.  This finished me on 5miles for the first 7 days.  

image

100mile then this week? No f***ING chance.   I was racing wednesday at the 1st South Yorkshire road league at lodge moor and planned a 17min something attempt at a parkrun this weekend. Missing the 22mile I set off to do it on easter Monday but after setting off with an already tight hamstring I got 15mile before I had to stop with a failing glute as a precaution.  Stretched out I skipped running Tuesday but managed 1.2miles Wednesday morning before the big race that evening.  I ran pretty well showing I am getting back to where I was in 2014 but not quite.  31.23 & 28th. 

image

about a mile in Andrew Buddery had pulled up with a back complaint but it wasn’t till after when club captain Chris Ireland pointed out that as 1st reserve for the weekends Northern 12 stage road relays I was now in.  So much for the parkrun.  So easy running as planned we made the 2 1/2hr journey up to Sunderland to run a leg of 2.2miles.  Crazy but I enjoyed it giving it “full balls” running 12.23 on leg L. Never been so knackered after a 2 mile run but the club qualified easily in 14th place with only 25th needed.  2 1/2hr back as well where there was a few tired legs. 

image

So today I set off with still sore legs for a run I wanted to be between 22 & 24miles.  The pace wasn’t quick but I managed with some determination and plenty of fuelling 23.3miles.  As my last 20miler before London that was good.   Less than a parkrun more for the full distance.   Sets me up nicely with one more week of hard mileage before taper time.  63miles this week in the end. 

Another go at doing a parkrun in 17:30ish is on the agenda Saturday with potentially an half marathon sub 90 race pace Sunday.   Next stop Blackheath on the 24th. 

image

Anyway Bye for now

Donate to my Justgiving page in aid of MIND HERE

“One thing about racing is that it hurts.  You better accept that from the beginning or you’re not going anywhere.”

– Bob Kennedy

Leave a Reply

