Poorly toddlers and not enough sleep but cutback week a success?

“Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant.”

Robert Louis Stevenson

34 days till the 2016 Virgin Money London marathon

image

Jeez, that brings it close but, training for a marathon is like the quote above.  You reap what you what you sow, that is true but you have to do a lot of preparatory groundwork,  plant strong seeds, then water and feed them regularly or what you get is a poor rotten harvest. Every run, every mile and every step is a seed sown.  Anyway thats Enough being metaphorical anyway.

After last week’s Dronfield 10k on tired legs it was cutback week.  A chance to recoup a little energy, get some needed rest and get a little freshness back in the legs before the final push to taper time.  Well that was the plan.  The week started with my body deciding to relax too much and bang, a sore throat and a bit of a sniffle.  I rested Monday, Tuesday but Lucas decided he needed to wake up earlier and earlier then Wednesday night, well Thursday morning at 00:15 he was sick.  After clearing his bed and bedding up he came into our bed.  An hour later and he was then sick again.  Cue Emma going downstairs with him and me clearing the bed before at around 2 am I finally settled down to go to sleep again.  The 6 am alarm was swore at viciously but it was time to get up for work anyway.  After a 9 1/2 hr shift I was also feeling poorly.  I then decided to do the run I had planned anyway.  Cure or kill.  Thankfully it cured the poorly feeling and it didn’t return.  Friday I ran to work but the freshness in my legs meant I got a little carried away running too fast. The evening meant another run with Saturday again being a double run day. 

Sunday night was longish run time.  I was 10.7mile short of target 40mile for the week so I set off in the fading light the pace feeling easy on fresh legs even on the many descents.  As it got darker going through the back roads of Stocksbridge the bats appeared in their dozens.  I thought I was about to be imminently attacked either by a small flying rodent or a 6 ft muscular man in black kevlar and a bad sore throat.   I was attacked by either so I finished the 11miles sprinting along the road I live on.

This morning was an hard speed session where the training and freshness meant I was smashing out 400, 800 and 150mtr reps in rapid fashion.  Seeds sown and the marathon training paying dividends. Unfortunately my legs where dead after and even into tonight’s 5miles.  A good night’s sleep and it will back on the roads to London on the 24th April.  Before that there is a few races to run

Anyway Bye for now

Donate please HERE in aid of MIND the mental health charity. 

“Some people create with words, or with music, or with a brush and paints. I like to make something beautiful when I run. I like to make people stop and say, ‘I’ve never seen anyone run like that before.’ It’s more than just a race, it’s style. It’s doing something better than everyone else. It’s being creative.”

Steve Prefontaine

Leave a Reply

