Hardwork in the wind but 50miles in 4days? DONE!!! Turning a bad week good

what doesn’t kill me can only make me stronger”

Friedrich Nietzsche

62 days till the 2016 Virgin Money London Marathon

I DID IT!!!!!!  After my very poor start to the week where by 8am Thursday morning I had not ran a single step in anger of a potentially 70mile week I had set myself the new target of 50miles in 4 days.  50miles sounds easy with 7 days to do it but in 4 straight days I knew it would be tough whether Mentally, physically and emotionally.

Thursday mornings 1.5mile from the university tram stop to work at least put a little distance on the board with the plan to go to club speed session in the evening after a long 9.5hrs on my feet at work.  6 o’clock came and I Set off for the 4miles easy to join the rest of the group, a 2.7mile session of 5x900m in 5:08ave I reckoned I needed to run a warm down 2.5-3miles to get to 10miles for the day. Poor maths in my head but that actually made it just over 11miles.  Great start and hopefully not too much too soon?

Thankfully not.

image

2 x 5.1mile runs on Friday and a 4.3 & 5.1mile run on Saturday left me with around 19miles to run today for 50mile week and then some.   Plan was a 15mile before and a 5mile after to achieve this.  Leaving the house 10min later than planned then having to run last 3miles into a strong headwind meant I only managed to get 14.3miles in completely drained. Uploading to strava I worked out I only needed 4.1miles to get to 50mile.  I refuelled through my shift then set off into the stronger swirling wind.  It was hardwork with tired legs and in the wet windy conditions but I managed to get to 4.7miles.  50.7miles ran in 4 days. Job done and turning what started as a bad training week into a good one. 

image

Emma has continued her magnificent training as well including 2 1/2hrs in the wind today.  After one of the most mild xmas’s I can remember this years been a shocker for her first marathon build up. Cold, very wet and extremely windy.  Its not long till the 24th April and one thing comes to mind. Anyone who has got out in the weather deserves all the success they need.  If I run my 2:50.00 – sub 3hr and Emma runs under her target of 6hrs we’ll have earned it on days and even weeks like this. Still need to keep mostly injury and illness free and hope conditions on the big day are right but the work will have definitely been put in.

Anyway, Bye For Now

Please donate to MIND, the mental health charity HERE

“Desire is the key to motivation, but it’s determination and commitment to an unrelenting pursuit of your goal – a commitment to excellence – that will enable you to attain the success you seek.”

Mario Andretti

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

