2016, a new year and a clean slate

“I run because long after my footprints fade away, maybe I will have inspired a few to reject the easy path, hit the trails, put one foot in front of the other, and come to the same conclusion I did: I run because it always takes me where I want to go.”
Dean Karnazes ultramarathonman

image

111 days till the 2016 Virgin Money London Marathon

After detailing my annus (snigger) horribalus in the last post I’ve got only, shock horror, positive things to say.  Ive continued training while trying to keep the holiday weight gain to a minimum.  a wet & windy 10mile run up some of the steepest local hills to Stocksbridge in the pitch black with only my trusty headtorch for company on the 30th December went well despite being made to jump by a killer carrier bag rustling on a barb wire fence. I even began my new years eve celebrations with a banana based carbohydrate drink

image

😉

as I had an inkling I’d be running the New years day hillsborough parkrun. More local ale did follow though.

This I did, 19.15 on an undulating & icy coarse was a good result without being flat out.  Not as quick as this time last year (18.50) but 36sec faster than boxing day. I felt strong all the way through snd able to compete.  Another 7mile Run Saturday in the downpours. Seriously this rainy weather needs to do one NOW. This was followed Sunday morning by an 11.5mile commute to work.  My mojo was back!!!!!!! I realized after looking on strava I was 0.2miles short of 40miles for the week of 28th December to the 3rd January. As any self respecting runner knows leaving it at 39.98miles would be a crime to the sport. After a very busy 6hrs at work I Set off to sort this on tired Achy legs. 1.3miles later I felt I had made up for mathematical justice. 41.1miles.  A good solid week done.  Yay!!!!!

I will continue this week into my first big race of 2016 with the Yorkshire XC Championships at lightwater Valley in ripon. It will be a muddy affair with the recent weather but it was last time in 2014 running around the big amusement park.  Im sure its going to be a ‘rollercoaster’ (sorry, I’ll get me coat) of a race.

IMG_20160104_203454

i’m looking forward to pitting my wits and testing my body against some of the best runners in Gods Country.  after this I need to look at increasing my endurance distance up to 20miles by the end of January.

Anyway, Bye For Now.

i will be running VMLM2016 in aid of Mind, the mental illness charity. donate here

“If you’re trying to achieve, there will be roadblocks. I’ve had them; everybody has had them. But obstacles don’t have to stop you. If you run into a wall, don’t turn around and give up. Figure out how to climb it, go through it, or work around it.”

Michael Jordan

 

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

