Fit to fat but finally back on the road

“God has given me the ability.  The rest is up to me.  Believe.  Believe.  Believe.” – Billy Mills

Its been ages since I last blogged but there has been a reason. How can you write a running blog when you haven’t been running much? From a 50miles a week runner to someone who considers 20miles in a week a bloody good week.  its been difficult.  Very difficult, Ive been ticking over, strengthening a glute and hamstring that in the words of a physio ‘has no strength whatsoever.’ also, obviously I put on a little weight. Since my holiday in a windy, rainy Tenerife ive been a little weak & i had become a weak willed runner But…..

image

some thinking was done a week or so before an holiday to Majorca the middle of October, i needed to continue strengthening the muscles, concentrate from running from the glutes and keep plugging till I was strong enough to run properly.  the holiday came and my first run out there was an outstanding sub 7min mile 5mile run touring the resort. the second was equally confidence boosting if not as quick (7.30ave) due to firstly running on the beach for 2.5miles then back onto road while wondering if i would make it back to the hotel or in some random Spanish village trying to work out how to get back.  while i only ran twice that week and ate a few too many Burger kings I came back feeling ready to push on when back in good old hilly Sheffield.

unfortunately a storm was brewing,  staying in an hotel next to a natural nature reserve/swamp meant there was mosquito’s, 1000s of the little blood sucking parasites to be exact. I was bitten to death.   I’d also gone on holiday with the rumblings of a cough and back in the cold of October this came out with a vengeance. follow this up with the mosquito bites swelling my calf up it was another couple of weeks before, on Monday 9th November I finally began training ‘properly’ again.  a setback on the Wednesday with the after affects of the virus/bite allergy causing dizzy spells and swelled sinus’s but I finished the week with my return to South Yorkshire xc at cannon hall. I was as unfit/weak/poor as I expected getting beat and out ran by people I would normally be minutes in front of. despite the lack of performance I was happy. A good workout and proof I am strong willed again. 4weeks till the final XC, 4 weeks to get some speed and strength back.

image

So, ive got my head down and started to train like I know I can. Out as gone the 6.30miles I used to run replaced with a slower pace while I build my fitness & strength back up.  Currently I average 7.30s which is a little hard to stomach but ive returned to speed training and today, Sunday 22nd November ran a 10miler at ave 7.50miles. slow but this was a major step for me.  I felt strong and like I didn’t need to stop and get my breath.

image

ive remembered that while it is hard and you need a strong will that running is also such a simple sport. You put one foot in front of the other at pace and just keep doing it. After a while you start to do it faster then after a bit you just start doing it even faster.

After the new year its the Yorkshire XC, the northern XC and the National XC. Mud, hills, water, cake and more mud = fun, fun, fun

wpid-screen-shot-2012-01-22-at-4-40-16-pm.png

Virgin Money London Marathon 2016 i’m coming for ya! get ready.  Bonus is the Missus also got in through the ballot so im bringing back up.  She will be giving it her best so I must too.

424373_396633870386125_1077238449_n

“I always loved running…it was something you could do by yourself, and under your own power. You could go in any direction, fast or slow as you wanted, fighting the wind if you felt like it, seeking out new sights just on the strength of your feet and the courage of your lungs.”
Jesse Owens

 

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

