One final marathon push. The road to VMLM2015

“I run because it’s so symbolic of life. You have to drive yourself to overcome the obstacles. You might feel that you can’t. But then you find your inner strength, and realize you’re capable of so much more than you thought.”

Arthur Blank

This is something I aim to, no, I need to prove in the next few months. 

image

15 week till the 2015 Virgin Money London Marathon.  Probably my last marathon for at least a few years. 

A dip in form, injury and finally illness at the end of last year as well as a relaxed (read lazy and overeating) xmas means I started 2015 a stone and a half overweight, unfit and undertrained.
image

I need to start racking up the miles but at a gradual rate.  Push too hard and I could cause more problems but dont push enough and I’ll be struggling when its time to introduce more marathon specific training.   Its hard because ive had people who are usually much slower than me beating me in parkruns & training. I see them lean and fast and the guilt kicks in.   I have said im not going to race till February at least.  Wise decision. 

Well it was, this Sunday I’m running/racing in the Brass Monkey 1/2 marathon. This is a race I PB’d in last year (1.21.22) despite not being fully fit and set me up for the rest of the successful fast spring of races, yes including failing to run the sub 3hr banker I thought I’d get at Blackpool marathon (3:03.14 but GFA) but Im sure I’m even less prepared this time but another decent result would give me the confidence to push on. A bad run could either knock my confidence or give me the strength to get my focus back.  I aim to run a 10k in February with another half end of Feb/start of March and I hoped to run a 20mile race too but the 2 obvious ones are both on the same day which just happens to be my toddler sons birthday.  That may mean I dont get one in. Yet another obstacle but not a major one.

image

Not got a plan written down yet but when I do it’ll have a fast paced tempo, a speed endurance session and a long run with marathon pace or quicker efforts put in.  The rest of the runs will be easy or steady paced.

image

One thing its going to be a roller coaster of a few months running. I have the accommodation sorted in my sisters flat just 1.5miles from the start in Greenwich Park and 2miles from the marathon expo at the excel centre.  Need to book my train tickets but that’ll be done soon. 

Anyway bye for now. 

“To give anything less than your best, is to sacrifice your gift.”

 Steve Prefontaine

image

Leave a Reply

