A time for marathon reflection

“You have to forget your last marathon before you try another. Your mind can’t know what’s coming.”
-Frank Shorter, 1972 Olympic marathon gold medalist

With another marathon coming in 5 weeks,  seems a long time but its not, I feel I need to draw a line under Sunday 6th April and the blackpool marathon.  Learn what lessons I need to and move on. I have resumed training with 2x  easy pace 5k runs and one 6.8mile steady testing a new weapon. More about that in a bit.

Dont get me wrong, on Sunday, in that wind, 3:03.20 is a great performance but that little niggle in my mind, that tormenting thought is there saying ”your not a sub 3hr runner yet.” And its right. Be it physically,  mentally or just plain bad luck I haven’t ran 26.2miles in under the 3hrs.

image

So,  im glad I do have another chance soon and dont have to wait yet another year. When I entered both marathons Blackpool was seen as the sub 3hr banker and white peak a more relaxed effort but still hopefully under sub 3.

Thats changed now and despite me achieving the GFA time for VMLM2015 the White Peak marathon has taken on another role. A chance to prove, mainly to myself, that I CAN run less than 3hrs for 26.2miles and I am pretty confident I WILL do it there.  I have to decide on a plan and stick to it.

Options being :
1. Go out at sub 2:50 pace (6.30mpm) again and try to hang on. Chance to blow up and fail.
2. Go out at sub 3 pace (6.50mpm) for the slight up and pick the pace up to hopefully 6.30mpm at the turn point where its first slightly down then steeply downhill. Probable finish of around 2:55.00
3. Be conservative and try to ave 6.50mpm all the way to secure. No margin for error. 

Obviously number 2 looks on paper the best option but White Peak is notorious for being 10min slower than a flat road marathon.  Like I say, need to decide. … but not quite yet.

I do think I need to take the pressure off. I did put a lot of pressure on myself going into Blackpool.  In confident mood I could not see at all how I’d run over 3hrs. Everything had pointed to a fast run but you can’t account for ‘that’ speed of headwind. 

I did say everything had gone right in the build up last weekend but that’s not 100% true. I noticed 10min before the start I had a little tear in the side of my race shoes

image

image

I didn’t let it get to me, after all the motto was if I had a problem to “deal with it” which i did but this has meant I had to ask my understanding wife for what is an expensive shiny pair of Adidas Sonic Boost

image

image

These will be my weapon of choice for White Peak. I’ve tried one run in them today and they seem ok. A little weird with the bouncy new technology.

I plan to do a few runs before to break them in and get used to them. I haven’t got the usual amount of time to recover from a marathon so will be slowly building mileage and effort over the next 3 weeks then tapering again for 2. Physically I have surprisingly felt ok but mentally im still tired. At the end of the 1st week of taper I’ll decide on target pace.

I am still asking for donations on my justgiving page and if you donate £5 you can take a guess at my White Peak marathon finishing time. £10 is 2 guesses.  There will be a prize for the closest guess. 

Anyway, Bye For Now

“I also feel it usually takes four or five races to hit your best marathon for your body to be accustomed to the training AND the race itself.”
-Bill Rodgers

White Peak is my 4th attempt so let’s hope so.

Leave a Reply

