So close I can smell the fish & chips

”Focus on the journey, not the destination. Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it.”
Greg Anderson

Only a few days to go till I toe the line in Blackpool, 5days to be precise and now in full taper mode I have managed to get a cough. Now this could be a problem if its still here on Sunday. Not a big one as long as it doesn’t get any worse. I have proved this by managing to finish the remaining Dave Oldfield marathon plan sessions Inc the last pre marathon,  club speed endurance session and then the 12mile steady with 3mile at Marathon pace on Sunday. This means I feel really confident going into taper week 2.

image

Monday was a gamble, there is a series of little fell races called the Trunce. I used to run this all of time but a change of working hours meant I hadn’t ran the race in around 2 years. With a week off to look after my 2 yr old son this meant I was for once able to make the race. This is the reason that just 6 days before the marathon I was chancing running a hilly race.

image

I knew it wouldn’t be able to race it full out but I wanted to exactly where I was in fitness. My fastest ever time at the Trunce had been 3yrs previous in dry conditions in a time of 27.21. With a few days of wet weather I knew it would be fairly muddy. The 1st mile was purposely quick to get away from the field of 300 before I settled into a more reserved pace. Thinking the 2nd river crossing was shin deep I jumped in to find it was thigh deep causing me falling chest forward into the river. The return up the final hill was very muddy. Despite the problems and reserved performance I ran 27.18 and finished 7th overall & 3rd Vet. 3sec faster than my previous fastest. This has given me even more of a massive confidence boost. Looking good for Sunday.

image

So with this I need to remind people to donate to the Huntington disease association via my justgiving page or texting GIRV77  £5 to 70070. Dont forget if you donate £5 to take a guess at a finishing time for one of my marathons. Closest guess wins a prize.

Anyway Bye For Now

When we are sure that we are on the right road there is no need to plan our journey too far ahead. No need to burden ourselves with doubts and fears as to the obstacles that may bar our progress. We cannot take more than one step at a time.”
Orison Swett Marden

Leave a Reply

