No easy way, mudfesting and almost there

“He who fears being conquered is sure of defeat.”– Napoleon Bonaparte, legendary military leader

Been a while since last post and a lot has happened in my training.  I started the David Oldfield plan of self destruction and despite looking very daunting on paper the reality has been different.  Its hard but manageable and I have been getting stronger and stronger.

Unfortunately, I have also developed an ankle issue.  The ligament sheaf on my right ankle has become inflamed and I am currently managing it using icing, ibroprofen and stretching. The mighty One, Kris King did a movement screen on me and one cause could be that my right hamstring is very tight and inflexible.  My left one is perfect. Thankfully I can still run on it and managing to complete the majority of the planned scheduled runs.

More recently I competed in the absolutely fantastic National cross country championship at wollaton park in Nottingham.

image

Inspired by the quality on show,  I had one of the best races I have ran. Felt strong all the way through and, after john Doherty lost his shoe, i ended up as first counter for Sheffield running club.  It was a muddy affair and I managed to beat people I have not even been near before showing the intense marathon plan is paying off.

image

That was followed the next day by what could be the hardest interval session ever. 15min steady followed by efforts of 5,1,2,4,1,2,5,1,2,4 at at least one mile pace with 5min steady running between. Still, TRAIN HARD, RACE EASY!

The first real illness hit me last weekend with a nice bout of gastroenteritis on the Saturday and me having to abandon a 22mile run at 3.4miles on the Sunday. I felt at mile 1 like I should at 19miles.

knackered. 

Better that weekend though than this.  I have my first ever 20mile race.  Well I say race, its going to be more of a marathon pace effort. The desired time will be 2hr 10min. 

4 short weeks on Sunday till April 6th where all the talking, training and tiredness is put to the test up and down the golden mile.

After its a well earned rest….

Well for 6 weeks at least.  May 17th is marathon number 2. The picturesque White Peak marathon from Ashbourne,  up the Tissington trail and back into Cromford meadows.

Wish me luck. 

In other news.

Friend of the blog Kris King is still preparing himself for his coasthunting for a cure for HD challenge.  He has been training hard and networking.  Should be good and if he comes past your town why not get out and show him some support. 

I am also raising money for Huntington disease by running both the blackpool marathon and white peak marathon. Both in sub 3hr.  You can help by donating here. For each £5 you donate also include your guess for my finishing time at either Blackpool or White Peak.  I will be sorting out a prize for the closest guess to my time for each marathon.  Dont forget to put your guessed time and which marathon it is for. 

Anyway.  Bye for now

“Struggling and suffering are the essence of a life worth living. If you’re not pushing yourself beyond the comfort zone, if you’re not demanding more from yourself – expanding and learning as you go – you’re choosing a numb existence. You’re denying yourself an extraordinary trip.

Dean Karnazes. Ultrarunner and Cross America runner

Leave a Reply

