Windy Worksop Workout – 1/2marathon race review

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
William Arthur Ward

I signed up for Worksop a couple of days after the redbull steeplechase with high hopes of going for a sub 1:22.00 result. 7 days of all inclusive lanzarote holiday meant I came back tuesday 8lbs heavier despite managing to get out for a few runs. A tight calf that developed during a 10mile run on Wednesday that was still there during Dave O’s Thursday speed session meant a reassessment of targets.

So I decided I would put my current PB of 1:23.36 in my garmin and round down the pace from 6:23 per mile to 6:20. This would mean just breaking 1:23.00. I planned 10miles easy then go for it in the last 3miles.

After arriving, getting changed & warming up it was time to join the throng at the start. We were off but I had an eventful first 100m. 1st off someone caught the back of my shoe then I tried to pass a hippy guy who was all elbows and managed to deaden my left bicep. This luckily went away quickly. First mainly uphill miles of 6.15, 6.17, 5.55, 6.21 put me in a good place. the wind was getting worse but I dug in and before long we were turning left towards the entrance of clumber park with a split of 6.22.

Into the park I kept it solid working my way at 6.22 and 6.26 but then running into the wind toward the clumber archway I pushed only to run a slower 6.36. I needed a emotional boost which I received with the infamous section of hilarious signs. At points I was in stitches laughing and got the needed boost. 6.13 but then it was back into the wind getting pelted from above by conkers as well as skipping around them on the ground, this coupled with strong winds slowed me down again with 6.36 & 6.31. I decided to forget the plan, get to the final mile of downhill and put in a good last effort.

Soon we hit the college/school and a few local runners really sped up which I found weird but soon found out why when we turned the corner of the building and into the long driveway or wind tunnel as it turned out. I got hunger pangs as well which wasnt helped by the smell of the Sunday roast as I passed the caretakers cottage. After reaching the main road the garmin beeped for mile 12, 6.44 & easily the slowest mile of the race. Luckily we had now reached the downhill stretch. From here I opened up flying down the hill, ignoring a cramping feeling in my side and passing runner after runner. The wind was coming and going but was now behind me. Mile 13 = 5.43. With 400m to go a runner went sprinting, and I mean all out, past like usain bolt. I picked my pace up even more and could see usain had blown up. Checking my garmin, seeing 1:21.something and a sign for 200m left I gave it one last push sprinting past usain and another runner. Unfortunately the clock just ticked 1:23.00 a few metres before I crossed the line. I ran the last 0.1 mile at 5.07 pace.

1:23.09 gun and 49th/1629
1:23.04 chip. A new PB by 32sec. Aim had been 6.20mile pace and averaged 6.21 so I pretty much got it bang on.

Great performances from the SRC crew. Will was 3rd, joe fowler 10th and 2nd vet 40, kev lilley was 28th and 2nd vet 50. We got 1st male team. Many others got PBs in tough conditions. Good day all round

“Kites rise highest against the wind – not with it.”
Winston Churchill

Leave a Reply

