Interval sessions and sleep deprived parkrunning

“Run like hell and get the agony over with.” – Clarence DeMar

A good week on both training & diet spoilt slightly in part by me, partly my six month old son Lucas.

After an excellent week of running including a track session (10x200min/600m with 90sec recovery) where I was flying, an interval session where I was hitting 5x3min dead 1k reps despite fatigue in my legs and my general running pace being around 7:15min miles I was confident of a fast parkrun today sat 13th October, maybe even a PB performance.

That was until 3am this morning when Lucas woke up crying and sleep was hard to come by with snatched 20min naps until I got up at 6am. It also didn’t help last night I couldn’t find my sheet of barcodes, I spent 90min looking for them before giving up and going to bed only to find one at the side of the bed. Bloody typical.

So fueled up by a bowl of fruit salad and 1/3bottle of Lucozade & a warm up it was yet again parkrun time. Starting fast to avoid the congested start area before hitting a decent pace. Somewhere near the start of the 2nd lap the lack of sleep caught up with me and wasn’t able to fight off the people around me when challenged and could only watch as 3 of them finished around 25, 20 & 10secs in front of me. 14th in 18:41. 9sec slower than last week which isn’t too bad in the circumstances.

I have also begun the 100 press up challenge at level 2 on week 3. This should help my aim of 37:15 at Leeds Abbey Dash by giving me more upper body strength. It’s tough but fun and I am sure it will be worth it. If everything goes to plan I will arrive in Leeds on 18th November in the best physical shape I have been in years.

Got another heavy week coming up and I am confident of keeping up with the eating plan. 13days so far with no chocolate, crisp, biscuits and very little starchy carbs. Generally I have felt more energised and fresher, faster and fitter.

Might try parkrunning again next week which will be my 51st but only 50th official after not having my barcode last week. I should then get my 50 parkrun t-shirt. Then again it might be time for a rest then have a PB attempt nearer the end of October.

“There will come a point in the race, when you alone will need to decide. You will need to make a choice. Do you really want it? You will need to decide.” – Rolf Arands

Leave a Reply

