4Days till the SIGSHM & Trying and Failing to take it easy

“Running is real and relatively simple…but it ain’t easy.” – Mark Will-Weber
 

17Days Till The White Peak Marathon………

Gulp!

& only 4days till the SIG Sheffield Half Marathon.

It will be the 5th year in a row I have run the Sheffield Half. Previous years times were

2007 – 1hr 59min 02secs(pre joining Hallamshire Harriers)

2008 – 1hr 42min 34sec ( first as Hallamshire Harrier)

2009 – 1hr 31min 09secs

2010 – 1hr 33min (Hamstring strain from halfway)

2011 I will hopefully smash the previous times and run a sub 1hr 25min PB. As long as I don’t start too quick & slowly build up the pace I think I am capable of achieving such a time.

Fingers Crossed.

What we truly and earnestly aspire to be, that in some sense we are. The mere aspiration, by changing the frame of the mind, for the moment realizes itself. – Anna Jameson
Right the training for the last few days. With me now in taper time the amount of miles I am logging is greatly reduced. Especially this week with a long race to run. Monday  was a Rest day after the 24.7miles on sunday gone.
Tuesday was club speed session and the plan was to take it easy, run the strides at around 80%.  Riggsy was going to come but had got stuck in traffic so I waited 5minutes after everyone else had gone to get there before following them. Because i was playing catch up I set off at a fast pace to get there for the first rep. I was the only one that is normally classed as the A group or faster ones. It was all B group people so while at the back of the Old persons flats they did 4 short reps I did 1long, 1short, 1long, 1short at full whack. oh well so much for taking it easy. It was then on to the next strides and again while the main group did 2 strides I did 3. Then it was onto Black lane for the last strides. This time we all did the same amount of 1short, 1long, 1short, 1long. Session done we set off back up Rodney hill very slow. On realising e were at 12min pace I picked up the pace…………….to 10min pace. LOL.  So a slow finish but probably best with Sunday in mind. 6miles in 52min.

This morning I did an easy recovery run from home to Middlewood Park & Ride. Well it was supposed to be, didn’t really pay attention to the pace I was going at so when I got to Middlewood tavern and looked at my watch I knew I had failed to ‘take it easy’ again. Went past the Park & Ride I kept going to the next stop. 7.5miles in 55min 32secs. 7:21pace when it should have been more like 8:30pace.

I Must do better on Sunday when starting at a slower pace because I need to keep the energy levels for a fast last 6-7mile finish.

With the race on Sunday I wont be doing much more running this week except for a couple of  EASY miles on Saturday morning to keep legs loose.

Anyway Bye For Now

Please Donate to Bluebell wood hospice by donating to my CharityGiving page. All the money goes straight to the charity.

“In running, it doesn’t matter whether you come in first, in the middle of the pack, or last. You can say, ‘I have finished.’ There is a lot of satisfaction in that.”
-Fred Lebow, New York City Marathon co-founder
Leave a Reply

