Bell hagg run, A good marathon pace & getting lost on the moors.

“It’s very hard in the beginning to understand that the whole idea is not to beat the other runners. Eventually you learn that the competition is against the little voice inside you that wants you to quit.”
– George Sheehan
 

20days till The White Peak Marathon, less than 3weeks now and after just finishing my last long run i have to ask myself the question….

‘Am I ready for 26.2miles of running now?’

The answer is that I really think so. (crossed fingers)

Anyway, the training. Thursday as I said last time was a double run day. First off in the morning I ran from Middlewood to Work. 5.04miles in 39:18min

Thursday night I led the running club group thru Rivelin Valley, up the hill to Bell hagg and back thru Rivelin Valley. There is a lot of climb in this run and with the sun shining was a little warm as well. The return journey thru Rivelin became a little bit of a race so the last 3.5miles were a little sharp. 8miles in 1hr 08min.

Friday, After work I ran home from work. Again it was a little warm but I was happy to maintain the pace even though it is mainly uphill that way around. 11.54miles in 1hr 31min 54secs. 

Because of my tired legs I decided to take Saturday as a needed Rest Day with Sundays run in mind.

This meant I finished April on 212miles for the month despite the two-week of cold affected training.

So the long run today. First off it was a 12mile loop at around Marathon pace of 7:10-7:15 per Mile. Pace was a little erratic but, despite Miles 8,9 & 10 where the tired legs combined with a lot of climb slowed me down, I managed to keep the ave pace right. Managed to finish strong and at the 12miles point I felt I could have gone 6 or 7 miles longer at that pace. 12.13miles in 1hr 27min 50secs. Ave pace was 7:15min miles

Splits were 6.38 6.45 7.04 7.29 7.37 7.00 7.15 7.39 7.35 7.28 6.23 6.43.

Second part was to meet Sheila, Riggsy & fizz the dog in Midhopestone for a 10mile fell run.

All went well till I got us a little of course and we had to run/walk for around an hour thru thick heather to get back on track. This added miles and extra time on my feet. 12.6miles in 3hr 16min. Hard work & more miles than I needed to do but still, to take positives, good to have so much time on my feet.

24.73miles today. Finished This week on 64.63miles.

Now For The Sheffield Half Marathon next week. Any guesses on my time?

Don’t bother just to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors.  Try to be better than yourself.
–William Faulkner

Leave a Reply

