A poor week & an acceptable Parkrun

Running is a lot like life. Only 10 percent of it is exciting. 90 percent of it is slog and drudge.
David Bedford
 

34Days till The White Peak Marathon

And I am still suffering with this damn Cough, the sniffles have gone but this bark of mine is getting on my nerves. I think it is down to me really because I have stopped drinking enough. Must hydrate better.

First off I would like to congratulate some people on their VLM performances today. Well done to:-

Styuart Maycock 2:36:36, Lee Smith 2:49;08, Jeremy Mirams 3:23:33, Ryan & Charlotte Jenkinson both 3:46:53 & Lindsey Ladhams 4:52:37.

Because of the cough I have not done much running this week. Thursday & Friday were needed rest days.

Saturday was Parkrun Day, I decided I would do Endcliffe Park & an attempt at a new PB. After getting off tram at the University Stop I set off on a 1.2mile easy warm up to the park in 9:18min.

A quick chat with Riggsy, Alex, Nick, Stu & Ruby it was time to start the race. Plan was to stay with a couple of people of approx same pace as me.

3,2,1 & it was go, I sped off chasing fellow Hallamshire Harrier Andrew Challenger until he eventually started to gain good distance on me. This is when I relaxed into a very comfortable pace saying in second with Trevor of Sheffield Running Club chasing me until halfway down Rustling rd where I let him past & drafted off him till the second time on Rustlings rd. I sped past him and gained a few metres on him, Two other runners had caught the both of us & started to challenge me here. The chest as getting a little tight but manageable but they still went past me, Trevor followed them past when I had to go around a guy with a dog before some guy came from nowhere, taking over all four of us. Where the bloody hell did he come from. I had the pace to beat the other 3 but not the fight in me. Finished 6th in 18:27. 10 seconds slower than my 5k PB but happy with that with the last remnants of a cold.

Stu on his Endcliffe debut ran 18:50 & 8th, Riggsy 19:03(PB by a minute) & 12th. Ruby came a respectable 54th & 23:15 on her  Parkrun debut.

A quick 2.25 mile 20min 17sec run into town with Riggsy And my running week was over.

Trunce #2 tomorrow & I have decided to put in two quality week of training and worry about the cough after May 1st.

Wish me luck.

Anyway Bye For Now.

“Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going.” – Jim Ryun
Leave a Reply

