Attack of the cold virus and the Hope valley Social run.

”Champions do not become champions when they win the event, but in the hours, weeks, months and years they spend preparing for it. The victorious performance itself is merely the demonstration of their championship character.”
— T. Alan Armstrong

41 days till the White Peak Marathon.

Well a minor irritation happened this week. Thursday the virus got me & I got cold.

Thursday morning I woke up feeling a little sniffley so I purchased some Echinacea, Vit C & First defense in hope of keeping the cold virus off. I set off from Hillsborough shops to work. Good run in the morning sun. 5.16miles in 39min 23sec.

After work feeling a little under the weather but hoping a run would see me right. set off to run to running club  but hit a headwind straight away, Ran the 5 weirs into town but along Derick Dooley Way, the long road to Hillsborough I could feel energy draining from me. Got to clubhouse to run the club run but felt really bad. realisation that I was ill meant that I just got changed and went home for my home-made hot Lemon & honey drink.

Maybe I have pushed my body too much and coupled with the start of my annual hay fever attack I have lowered my immune system too much. On a plus note I made it into the local free newspaper on page 6  http://www.looklocal.org.uk/emags/issue-640/index.html

Friday I decided to have an extra rest day with Saturday already planned as the weekly rest day.

Sunday, I had planned on running the Scenic 7 race @ Redmires reservoir before the SSC social run. Because of the cold I two & frowed between still doing this or just running the SSC run.

Final decision was to run the SSC run only, so this morning I got a lift off Sheila to hope to meet the gang. In the end there was 7 of us running up the hill, Me, Stu, Riggsy, Ruby, Sheila, Dot & Dots friend Naomi,  to loose hill farm including Riggsy unintentionally walking backwards over a cattle grid. How did he not fall over?

along the side of the hill and up to Back Tor,Touch the point

then down stony descent down the valley to edale

Then up the hill till we got to Wyn hill

Me -'Stu is that Ladybower or derwent?' Stu - 'Yes' Me- 'Thanks for that Stu!'

Then back down the hill at pace to Hope to meet Mozzy, John & Aitch in the cafe for cake & a bottle of water.

Good easy run in the bright Sunshine.11miles in 2hr 35min.Cold did sap me a little but Good finish to the weekend after a poor start.

Anyway Bye for Now

Please donate to bluebell wood

http://www.charitygiving.co.uk/garethirvine

“Running has never failed to give me great end results, and that’s why I keep coming back for more!”
Sasha Azevedo

 

Leave a Reply

