Inspired by Dean Kanazes, The Trunce #1 & SY 5mile Road league fixture 1

“Struggling and suffering are the essence of a life worth living. If you’re not pushing yourself beyond the comfort zone, if you’re not demanding more from yourself – expanding and learning as you go – you’re choosing a numb existence. You’re denying yourself an extraordinary trip.”
Dean Karnazes (Ultramarathon Man: Confessions of an All-Night Runner)

Too Tired to type this last night (Wednesday) so…..

7week 2days till The White Peak Marathon

I have been lent Dean Kanazes book, Dean Karnazes (Ultramarathon Man: Confessions of an All-Night Runner) by My Triathlon soon to be Ironman boss/friend at work Andy Granville. Really good read and a bit un-putdownable. While reading it I have noticed some similar things about the both of us. Both decent x-country runners in teens, both gave up running for 12years or so, Both neared 30yr old and had a mini midlife crisis, started running and refound running to be a life affirming saviour of our minds. Now my first race back was a half marathon, his was a 50mile race across hilly terrain just to qualify for a 100mile race in 24hr across the mountains of America with 39000feet of climb.

He is currently running 3000miles across America & you can watch him live here http://www.dadt.com/live/special/runacrossamerica/index.html. Inspiring stuff.

“Running is about finding your inner peace, and so is a life well lived.”
— Dean Karnazes

Anyway Busy few days I have just had. Two short races in 3days with training sandwiching both.

Monday Was the TRUNCE. 2010 PB 30min 10secs. I had already ran 3.5miles along the TPT to get to the start line.

The idea in the Trunce is beat your PB by a bit at a time in each race, gain 10points for doing it. But I wanted to see how much I had progressed in the last 6months so on the shout of 3,2,1,go I steadily climbed the first bit of hill at a slower pace till I got on the top path and then slowly but surely picked up my pace, chucked myself down the downhill fell and across the first river crossing via the stepping-stones. Then it was past the houses and along the road till a sharpright hand turn & a leap off a 5foot wall into a field. Down the field and a couple of SHU lads & a dark peaker shot past me. Big mistake as I retook them on the first gradual incline and then increased lead up the quarry face. over the stile and along the farmers fields, over the stile and again chucking my self down the quarry face. I normally excel on this part but got my positioning slightly wrong and caught my back foot going thru the thin slit in the wall, took 3 steps and fell. Jumped straight up and continued down the hill THRU the water which cost me when we got back onto the road as my shoes were so heavy and the girl & lad in front(used stepping-stones) started to pull away. Back thru the houses and back(stepping-stones for first bit then jumped into water) across the river for the last time.

up the felly hill and back along the trail to the finishing downhill stretch and over the line. Just failed to catch the guy in front with a sprint finish.

Felt really strong all the way around and time showed. 27min 21secs, 13th place & 20points in the series gained.PB by 2min 40secs.

Have I peaked after the first race? no I don’t think so.

Tuesday was a failed run. only managed 1.74miles along the canal. Legs felt like lead and made the wise decision to stop in town.

Wednesday was the first SY road league. Again in Oxspring. Last years time was 32min 29secs.

4.25mile run to the start line this time on the roads.

On the whistle everyone set off. Again I started slower than normal and as we made our way up to Cranberry road I again slowly cranked up the pace. Got into a group of 5 runners this pretty much stayed this way for almost the rest of the race. Along Cranberry road, onto green moor road where I over took clubmate Sam Mellor for the first time in a race , down and then up past the farm houses where and back along the road towards Oxspring. At this point there was 3 of us racing each other hard. Me, a donny AC vet and a sheffield road club runner were swapping places quite regularly.

When the final mile was on us me and the donny guy lost the sheffield RR guy and we were again swapping the lead quite often. I spotted a Sheffield Tri guy and honed in on him. 1/4 mile away from the finish the Donny AC guy built a 5sec gap on me. Could I put in one last effort and catch him again? You bet I could. I sprinted past him and honed in again on the Sheffield Tri guy but he beat me by 2 secs with the Donny AC guy 5 secs behind me. some good racing on very tired legs.

Time 30min 8secs but not sure what position yet till final results are printed.

Ran the 3.33miles home After the race to make it over 12miles ran on the day.

Anyway time for work.

Bye for Now

“People think I’m crazy to put myself through such torture, though I would argue otherwise. Somewhere along the line we seem to have confused comfort with happiness. Dostoyevsky had it right: “Suffering is the sole origin of consciousness.” Never are my senses more engaged than when the pain sets in. There is a magic in misery. Just ask any runner.”
— Dean Karnazes (Ultramarathon Man: Confessions of an All-Night Runner)
Leave a Reply

