Racing fellow runners, A strong hilly Club run & trying the Concord Parkrun

‘We are different, in essence, from other men. If you want to win something, run 100 meters. If you want to experience something, run a marathon.’
Emil Zatopek

7Week 6days till The White Peak Marathon.

Training is going quite good at the moment. I have to admit there is great support & camaraderie with so many people doing spring marathons but that will dwindle soon with a lot of people starting their taper from next week for the VLM (sorry Baz). There are a couple of people doing Windermere the day after the White Peak and One fellow SSC forumite doing WP too so not totally alone but April is going to be my BIG month of training with hopefully 240+ miles to run next month. Anyway on with the training report.

I had decided Thursday after work I was going to run to Hillsborough park clubhouse for the Club run. Took it easy at first with a mile and a half at 8:30min mile pace but the sight of a couple of runners 1/4 mile in front of me spurred me on and I picked up the pace ‘slightly’ and I quickly caught, passed and increased distance on the both of them. They put a bit of a fight but I felt pretty strong which was surprising after feeling so tired on the previous days cycling. Got to club after 3.79miles and 31min 21secs inc. a full minute waiting at traffic lights on Penistone Road.

We set off club run and made our way thru Beeley woods(3rd time in a week) up church street in Oughtibridge, up the fields to Bradfield and down thru the golf course to Hillsborough. Good view of the night sky from here

View from the top of Hillsborough golf course

7miles in 1hr 5min but I felt strong all night.

Friday – Rest Day.

Saturday I had decided to try the New Concord Parkrun. I set off at a quickish pace but not knowing the route I slowed slightly letting the front two go into the distance(not that I would have kept with them anyway) and me and another runner who had passed me also made our way down the hill, along the bottom and back up the other side with him 10-15secs in front and increasing the distance till he was 30sec in front. Second lap I picked up the pace and concentrated on catching the guy in front up a bit but knowing I wouldn’t catch him. felt a lot stronger going up the hill the second time and had really started to catch him up again. we got back onto the top and made our way across the finish. I finished 4th in 18:49. The guy in front ran 18:35 and the guy behind 19:12. Happy with that and room for instant improvement next time I run this Parkrun instead of the regular Endcliffe Parkrun.

After getting my barcode scanned I started of on the 4mile journey to Hillsborough thru parson cross, southey and wadsley. Took it easy for 33min 09secs. Not bad for a post race recovery run/warm down.

This next week starts an interesting 4 1/2 week for me with the Start of the Trunce series, A 4mile Fell race which I have an agenda with in Oxspring and Wednesday is the first of the South Yorkshire 5mile road league which I haven’t yet committed to doing also in Oxspring.

Anyway got to go.

Bye For Now

Please donate to my Bluebell wood Charity giving page

“We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give.”
Winston Churchill

“Good actions give strength to ourselves and inspire good actions in others.”
Plato

Leave a Reply

