Weight loss, heavy miles & jogging a speed session

”Most people never run far enough on their first wind to find out they’ve got a second. Give your dreams all you’ve got and you’ll be amazed at the energy that comes out of you.”
William James

9weeks 3days and counting till the White Peak Marathon.

The Week so far as been pretty good on the running front.

I now weigh 11st 10lb. Almost 2stone lighter than the 13.5stone I was last September. Where have I lost that then. The wife says I have lost my bum. At almost a stone a cheek I must have had a FAT ASS

Monday, 7:30am as a kind of punishment I set if in the frosty cold yet almost sunny morning. It took around a mile for my legs to even begin to warm up but 10miles in I was dripping sodium filled waste from my body in the warm mid morning sun. The wind cheater that had been a must now became a sort of sweatsuit.The route of Stocksbridge, oughtibridge, middlewood, hillsborough, upperthorpe, western park, past the Sheffield Uni, st marys gate and behind the back of the train station and I had the the choice of canal to Don valley or road to work and a few laps of the running track. Chose the Canal but the slower pace meant I didnt quite get 15miles in due to literally ‘running’ out of time. 14.69miles in 1hr 55min.

So Monday after work I went for what I thought was going to be a struggle but wasnt. Legs felt good and I didnt feel tired. A nice sunny run to the Middlewood P&R. 5.31miles in 42min 23secs meant I had managed exactly 20miles total for the day.

Tuesday night as usual was Hallamshire Harrier Speed session night. In search of 10miles for the night I ran from High Street in town to Hillsborough park. 2.5miles in 18min. Just 7.5miles to go then.

Tofts lane Fartlek, I wasnt going to get involved in the full session, Just jog behind the group and join in the odd slightly longer rep to keep legs fresh for Sundays SY half marathon. Enjoyed it and saw the tiniest new born lambs at the end of tofts lane. 6.7miles for the session and 1mile more to the P&R meant I had managed the 10miles in a total of 1hr 29min.

31miles in two days means I can have the planned 4 days rest & recuperation before the half marathon on Sunday without worrying about Marathon training miles.

well,……Maybe a 5miler on friday?……..nah, only kidding.

A quote for Sundays race

“Run like hell and get the agony over with.”
Clarence DeMar

Sub 1hr 25min here I come?

Tune in Sunday night to find out.

Anyway, Bye For Now.

“The most important key to achieving great success is to decide upon your goal and launch, get started, take action, move.”
John Wooden

Please Donate to Bluebell wood Hospice. Putting smiles on Poorly tykes faces.    http://www.charitygiving.co.uk/garethirvine.

All the money goes straight to the charity.

Leave a Reply

