Running to work, 80% effort & Sunrise trail running

There are as many reasons for running as there are days in the year, years in my life.  But mostly I run because I am an animal and a child, an artist and a saint.  So, too, are you.  Find your own play, your own self-renewing compulsion, and you will become the person you are meant to be.  ~George Sheehan

Things are looking up again with my running. 3days of good quality marathon training. Also at the start of the year my runbritain handicap was 6.8. It is now 6.2. This is down to knocking 40secs off my 5k/parkrun PB. Can I get my Handicap to below 6 before the White Peak Marathon?

I definitely think getting under 18min for 5K would do it so yes I think I can.

Monday Started at 8am with the 11.41mile run to Work from home. Bloody freezing when I set off I started a little fast and had to rail myself in a little. I felt pretty good but could feel the parkrun from the previous saturday in my legs still. Getting 3.5miles in and realizing I had forgotten my dinner meant a quick trip into Morrison’s @ Hillsborough to purchase some. Knee decided to hurt a little 1/2 mile from Work but managed to work thru it and the pain went away. 11.41miles in 1hr 24min. A record for that route by 4minutes.

Monday night the wife, Rusty, Daisy & I went up to the Underbank Dam for a sunset walk. Some absolutely great views produced the following Pictures.

Tuesday night was club night. I had said I was going to avoid the speed session but on being told it was 1k reps on clay wheels lane I decided that would work well if I did them at 80% effort. Session went well but not too much to plan. Did first two reps at 80% but did third at around 90% and fourth at only 70%. But if you put them together and split in two that is 80% right?

Did fifth and final one at 80%. Ave rep 3min 22sec for me. After a long warm down the totals were 7miles in 53min 53sec.A little twinge in the knee but gone straight away.

This morning Rusty & I ran up to Underbank again.We started on the Bypass side and Rusty decided to roll around in Duck pooh. He stank awful. We carried on along the trail to the Midhope stone side of the reservoir including me losing site of the light brown dog in light brown trees and foliage. Cue panic of me thinking I had lost the dog. I hadn’t, Phew. up the road and back onto the manmade trail on the north bank. Picked up the pace on here only stopping once to take this picture of the rising sun.

4.56miles in 39min 43sec. Good start to the day but due to interrupted sleep because of the strong wind in the night I felt a little tired all day.

After work I set off for a 7mile run to Middlewood Tram station. The legs felt a little tired but after a few miles I got into a good  rhythm and after using a few changes than usual on this route got to Middlewood P&R after 7.5miles in 57min 06secs. Another quicker than before time. No knee pain at all in either runs.

Got a lot of hope for a good performance in the South Yorkshire Half marathon on the 20th March

Anyway Bye For Now

“The will to win means nothing if you haven’t the will to prepare.” – Juma Ikangaa, 1989 NYC Marathon winner

Please Donate to my Charitygiving page for Bluebell wood Hospice

Putting smiles on Sick kiddies faces.

Leave a Reply

