Injury woes

12week 3days till White Peak Marathon

“Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, ambition inspired, and success achieved.”Helen Keller

Easy Week this week in the training plan. Thank god in the end.

Its happened, I have to say the words “I am Injured.”

Monday was a rest day to recover from Saturday & Sundays runs and hope the knee would feel better for Tuesday’s Speed session.

Tuesday then I woke up with the hope that the legs would feel refreshed and ready to do a speed session that night. They didn’t feel refreshed so made the decision that I would only run if my legs felt ok. Half four came and I decided to go for it. Arrived at Hillsborough Park feeling up for it, Got ready and at 6 set off with the rest of the group towards Clay wheels Lane. First worrying moment came when I picked up pace to cross a road before a car. The twinge in the back of knee hit me. tried a few small quick strides with no more twinges. Arrived at start of first rep and set off at pace up to bridge. legs felt really tired but no pain so ok. Got back down to bottom of road and set up the hill to the bridge again. A little pain halfway up, carried on, got to car park entrance, turned to go back down and the pain was very sharp i knee again. Sat down at the side of the road to see if it went away but knowing the session for me was over. Told the group I was going back to clubhouse to see the physio. Set back off but took a detour along penistone road and up past hillsborough shops. went in to clubhouse to see the Physio.

I have an inflamed common peroneal nerve. Not too serious, just needs rest and anti-inflamatory’s. No more running this week I think till Parkrun Saturday. But only if knee feels totally better. Legs should feel fresh as a daisy by then, I will be chomping at the bit to run and hopefully run fast. Parkrun PB on the agenda, knee permitting.

Anytime you suffer a setback or disappointment, put your head down and plow ahead. – Les Brown

Anyhow Bye for now

Speak to you all sunday with tales of 5k PBs hopefully

Leave a Reply

