Quotes, aspirations & running the chav gauntlet

Hi guys

14 week 3days to White Peak Marathon

“The greatest pleasure in life, is doing the things people say we cannot do.” – Walter Bagehot
“It is true that speed kills. In distance running, it kills anyone who does not have it.” – Brooks Johnson

Going to talk about the two quotes above. The first, for me personally comes from my constant need to prove people wrong and the pleasure it gives all of us when we do. Some people might say, and someone has,  a sub 3hr time in my first marathon is a lot to ask. Even I have said to myself on occasion that I cant do it. Christ its two sub 1hr 30min half marathons back to back and I havent achieved the barrier of one sub 1hr 30 half yet. But I know in my heart if I train hard enough the speed and endurance I used to have will come back to me.

Which brings me to the second quote. This is a quote, I believe responds to me. Now, don’t get me wrong, I am not saying I am a 31min 10K’er or anything. But, I have always been really quick over short distance. Can I sustain at least 6:50min mile pace for 26.2miles?

I think, no I Know it is in my capabilities to do so. Training is going well, I am getting Faster, Stronger & more importantly Fitter. I am sustaining a fast pace for longer, it is feeling easier & I think the only thing holding me back from super fast times is my own mental attitude. Got to let it hurt more for longer. It is this ability to accept the pain, embrace it and use it to achieve times that three years ago even i didnt think i could achieve.

I will find out in May eh?

Couple more

“Having a true faith is the most difficult thing in the world. Many will try to take it from you.”

And if I don’t run under 3hr. something for me to remember

“Success isn’t how far you got, but the distance you traveled from where you started.”

Anyway quick one on the last 2 days training.

Monday was a planned 7mile run from work to middlewood tram station via western park. Felt a little tired after the wind affected LSR sunday. Still kept up a half decent pace and 7.26miles done in 1hr 30secs

Tuesday was Club Speed session. Arrived looking forward to flatish clay wheels reps but on a quick look on the list realised it was actually ECCLESFIELD FARTLEK. Oh, Bugger!

Not a flatish speed session after all but try to keep with the group. Surprisingly despite the tired state of my legs I had a good session. Felt strong on all strides inc. the looooonnnnggggg climb up wordsworth to the Church. Only problem with this session is the area. Lots of

Typical Wordsworth chav

They were out in force last night.

I Knew at certain points, Ie. the dreaded jelly legs after a couple of strides that I needed Wednesday as a definite rest day. 8.36miles which is quite long for a speed session but good for both pace and Base mileage.

Wednesday As mentioned has been a rest day. Need to refill the legs ready for the next 4days of training.

Anyway Bye for Now

“To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the gift.”

Sorry last one I promise. 😉

Dont  Forget to donate to Bluebell Wood. Putting Smiles on VERY sick kiddies

http://www.charitygiving.co.uk/garethirvine

Leave a Reply

